Mytilene, Lesvos, Day 12

Short post today because I’m tired: Off to Pikpa in the morning.  Beautiful day, sun shining, air not quite so biting as yesterday, sky blue and clear.  Climbed an orange tree briefly to collect a few oranges for Anna the Orange Fiend, then made my way to morning meeting.

Spent all morning until 15:00 or so (lunchtime) sorting donations from a tent that collapsed in the last big rainstorm.  Basak and Jane joined me, and by the time we got to lunch we were all so tired of sorting that we went and did other things.

IMG_20160125_134612059_HDR.jpg

Half of the boxes, pre-sorting

I took a little break before going to help pack food for Moria and clean one of the refugee huts.  Whenever one of our residents leaves we have to clean out their living space to get it ready for someone else, so Ella, Michael and I did that.

I’m falling asleep as I write this, but suffice to say that it was a lovely day which culminated with homemade crepes, a mini-rave, and a ride home with some very nice doctors who were getting oriented to the island.  Kalinichta!  Time for me to pass out.

Leave a Reply

