Mytilene, Lesvos, Day 15 & 16

Sometimes I get to be a tourist.  Yesterday I spent the morning moving in with Clara, Basak, Anya, Ralph, Henreke, and Jane, and then decided to walk to Pikpa, since the sun was shining and the weather was warm and beautiful.  It’s a longish walk, but very pleasant.  I estimate the distance at somewhere around six kilometers, and most of it is along the beach.

I didn’t hurry and I brought my camera, so instead of describing everything I think I’ll let the pictures do the talking.

I also came across an informational board by the side of the road.  Did you know there is a petrified forest on Lesvos?  I didn’t!  Apparently the West side of the island has a petrified forest.  It’s a national park, so at some point I want to go visit.  There are also several hot springs, three calderas, and a few little volcanoes, so there is a lot of exploring for me to do.

When I got to Pikpa it was still beautiful outside, so I sat in the sun and helped with the mending.  We sometimes get clothes donations that are perfectly good but need a seam repaired, or a small hole patched, or a button reattached, so we put them aside to get fixed later.  Yesterday I spent several hours sewing, which was relaxing and good fun.

Today started out with hours of dishes, then I had a bit of a break, and then I went back to mending.  I also helped Carolina and Henreke (Henny) move two salvaged boat motors to a new place for repair and cleaning.  In the evening the Spanish Lifeguards showed up at Pikpa, and brought endless amounts of food and wine.  I practically had to roll home.  Speaking of home, Here’s a picture of my new digs!

P1030186.JPG

2 thoughts on “Mytilene, Lesvos, Day 15 & 16

  1. Sonia – Are you in need of any more lollipops or treats for children? Also, if a package is sent what address should be used? Jeanette

    Like

    • Oh help, please do not send anything to get the kids more sugar-high than they already are! We have constant sweets for them, and the Arabic way of taking tea includes about three tablespoons of sugar, so the kids are in a constant state of hyper-excitement.

      As for addresses… I will look into that tomorrow and get back to you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

